Nurse Licensure Compact

Current Nurse Licensure Compact

Maryland was the first state to join the National Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) in 1999.  Nurses with a multistate license can practice in any of the twenty-five NLC participating states.  The links below provide educational and reference material to foster a greater understanding of the NLC for nursing students, licensed nurses, employers, and the citizens of the State.

Click here to connect to the NCSBN Nurse Licensure Compact website.

NLC - List of Participating States

NLC - Fact Sheet for Licensed Nurses and Nursing Students

NLC - Fact Sheet for Employers of Nurses​

NLC - Roadmap for New Graduates Applying for Examination

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Nurse Licensure Compact

Video - Watch the Nurse Licensure Compact Explained

Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC)

Maryland will operate under the new eNLC effective January 19, 2018.  Learn more about the eNLC from the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN).

eNLC Final Rules adopted December 12, 2017

updated 12/21/2017