Skip to Main Content
Electrology Practice Committee
Nurse Licensure Compact
Advanced Practice Registered Nursing
Safe Prescribing Practices
Nurse Aide Registry
Maryland Open Meetings Act
Certified Nursing Assistant
CNA Advisory Committee
Maryland Public Information Act
RN Expanded Roles
Worker's Compensation Case Manager
Forensic Nurse Examiner
Direct Entry Midwives
Direct Entry Midwifery Advisory Committee
Direct-Entry Midwifery Application
Forms & Documents
Services & Links
Electrology Practice Committee
Continuing Education Requirements
Schedule of Fees
Please Note: The Board accepts ONLY checks & money orders made out to Maryland Board of Nursing or credit/debit cards. Fees are NOT refundable or transferable.
EXAMINATION & INITIAL CERTIFICATON FEES
Registered Nurse (RN) or Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) exam and re-exam
First Initial Advanced Practice RN Certification
Additional Initial Advanced Practice RN Certification
Initial Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) certification
Initial Medication Technician (MT) certification
Initial RN-FNE or RN-WCCM Certification
RN and LPN Endorsement
RN and LPN Temporary License
* The Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) fee assessed to Active status RNs varies on an annual basis. The current assessment is $13.00 annually. This fee is doubled for qualified Biennial RN renewals. LPNs, CNAs, and MTs do not pay this assessment.
Biennial Medication Technician renewal
Biennial Certified Nursing Assistant renewal
Biennial Active Licensed Practical Nurse renewal
Biennial Active Registered Nurse renewal
Includes $26 MHCC fee
Biennial Volunteer RN/LPN renewal
Biennial Inactive RN/LPN renewal
Biennial LPN conversion from Inactive to Active
Biennial RN conversion from Inactive to Active
Includes $26 MHCC fee.
Board recognized certifications are: CRNA, CRNM, APRN-PMH, CRNP-Adult, CRNP-Family, CRNP-Geriatric, CRNP-Neonatal, CRNP-OB/GYN, CRNP-Pediatric, CRNP-School Nurse, CRNP-Acute Care, CRNP-PMH, CRNP-Acute Care Pediatrics
Proof of certification must be submitted with the renewal. CRNM's must send proof of enrollment in the continuing competency assessment program.
Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNS) wishing to renew your certification for CNS are required to send a copy of your current national certification, with a $10.00 check for the two year renewal, to the Maryland Board of Nursing, attention to Monica Mentzer. Until the Maryland Board of Nursing is able to fund fully online applications, CNS renewal applications must be submitted as a hard copy. We encourage you to continue to use the on-line renewal application feature for your RN. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Biennial Advanced Practice RN renewal
Includes $26 MHCC fee and $10 for the 1st Advanced Practice certification
Biennial Renewal of each additional Advanced Practice Certification
Tax benefit for Nurse Practitioner Preceptors
On May 10, 2016, The Governor signed a bill that will allow a tax waiver for Nurse Practitioner preceptors. The Nurse Practitioner Preceptorship Tax Credit Fund will be funded by a $15.00 fee assessed to each nurse practitioner when they renew. Preceptors are eligible for up to a $1,000.00 annual tax waiver subject to meeting certain requirements. The Department is drafting regulations for the administration of the fund. For more detail refer to
Senate Bill 411, Chaper 385 Acts of 2016
Nurse Practitioner (CRNP) Renewal
Includes $26 MHCC fee, $15
and $10 for the 1st Advanced Practice certification.
(If you have multiple NP certifications, only one $15.00
fee will be charged.)
Biennial RN-FNE and RN-WCCM certification renewal
Includes $26 MHCC fee and $10 re-certification fee.
Compact State Advanced Practice RN renewal
Includes $26 MHCC fee and $10 for the 1st Advanced Practice certification.
National Certification is not required. Practice requirements are available on the website or by calling the office.
Compact State Nurse Practitioner (AC-CRNP) Renewal
Includes $26 MHCC fee, $15 Preceptorship Surcharge
and $10 for the 1st Advanced Practice certification
(If you have multiple NP certifications, only one $15.00 fee will be charged.)
Verification of licensure to another state
The Maryland Board no longer verifies directly to other states. You must now apply through the National Council of State Boards of Nursing's Nursys program
Advance Practice Verification
Visa Screen Verification
4140 Patterson Avenue
9861 (410) 585-1900