Direct-Entry Midwifery Advisory Committee Maryland Board of Nursing 4140 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21215

Ad hoc Open Session Meeting Minutes May 10, 2024

NAME	TITLE	PRESENT	ABSENT
Committee Members			
Paige Barocca, LDEM	Paige Barocca, LDEM Licensed Direct-Entry Midwife Member		
	1 st Four-Year Term: June 22, 2022 – December 31, 2025		
Tess Brody, LDEM Licensed Direct-Entry Midwife Member		X	
	1 st Four-Year Term: January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2026		
Brittany Coffman, LDEM	Licensed Direct-Entry Midwife Member	X	
	1 st Four-Year Term: January 26, 2022 – December 31, 2025		
Dr. Mairi Breen Rothman,	Certified Nurse Midwife Member and Chairperson	X	
CNM	1 st Four-Year Term: January 31, 2023 – January 31, 2027		
Darcie Tough, CNM,	Certified Nurse Midwife Member – term expires December 31, 2024	X	
MSN, RN	(Appointment by the Board 3/27/2024 to fill vacancy		
	Note: Vacancy because prior member resigned. A member appointed after a		
	term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is		
	appointed. Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. § 8-6C-11(g)(4).		
Dr. Ann B. Burke, M.D.	Representative of Maryland Hospital Association Member, 1 st Four-Year	X	
	Term: January 31, 2022 – December 31, 2026		
	Note : Vacancy because prior member resigned. A member appointed after a		
	term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is		
	appointed. Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. § 8-6C-11(g)(4).		
Jessica Watkins	Consumer Member	X	
	2 nd Four-Year Term: January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2025		
Board Staff			I
Monica Mentzer	Manager of Practice, Maryland Board of Nursing	X	
Board Counsel			
Carla Boyd	Assistant Attorney General	X	

Katherine Cummings	Assistant Attorney General	X		
Michael Conti	Assistant Attorney General			
Guests: (State of Maryland)				
Rhonda Scott	Executive Director, Maryland Board of Nursing			
Dr. Camille Forbes-Scott	Deputy Director and Director of Exam and Education, Maryland Board of			
	Nursing			
Adrienne Smith	Executive Assistant, Maryland Board of Nursing	X		
Guests (Members of Public), if Applicable				

Agenda Item (Subject)	Responsible Party	Discussion	Results
1. Call to Order	Dr. Mairi Rothman, DM, CNM (Committee member, Chairperson)	Dr. Mairi Rothman, DM, CNM, Committee Chair, called the May 10, 2024, Direct-Entry Midwifery Advisory Committee Open Session meeting to order. The following Committee members were present at the time the meeting was called to order, sufficient for a quorum: 1. Dr. Mairi Rothman, DM, CNM; 2. Dr. Ann Burke, MD; 3. Tess Brody, LDEM; 4. Brittany Coffman, LDEM; 5. Darcie Tough, CNM; and 6. Jessica Watkins, Consumer member.	Dr. Mairi Rothman called the May 10, 2024, Open Session Ad hoc Committee meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.
	Monica Mentzer (Board staff)	The meeting was held via conference call and the call-in information and agenda were posted on the Board's website at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting.	

A	genda Item (Subject)	Responsible Party	Discussion	Results
			Paige Barocca, LDEM, Committee member, joined the Committee meeting after Roll Call occurred.	
2.	Committee Duties and Responsibilities	Monica Mentzer (Board staff)	Ms. Mentzer provided the Committee with a copy of the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations, Title 8. Nurses, Subtitle 6b,§ 8-6C-12. Committee powers and duties., for review.	
3.	Review and approval of the May 3, 2024, Open Session Committee meeting minutes	Dr. Mairi Rothman, DM, CNM (Committee chairperson)	Dr. Rothman requested that with the exception of Item #5, the other agenda items be tabled, The Committee proceeded with agenda item # 5. Dr. Rothman acknowledged to the Committee that today's Committee meeting was scheduled for the purpose of conducting a closed session Committee meeting to conduct closed session business.	The Committee tabled all agenda items except for item #5.
4.	Public Business		odsmess.	
5.	Upon completing the Open Session Agenda, the Committee expects to close the meeting in accordance with Md. Code Ann., Gen. Prov. §	Dr. Mairi Rothman, DM, CNM (Committee chairperson)	Dr. Rothman, requested a motion to close the Open Session Committee meeting as required by Md. Code Ann., Gen. Prov. § 3-305.	Dr. Ann Burke, MD, moved, and Tess Brody, LDEM, seconded, to close the Open Session Committee meeting and move the Committee into Closed Session, at 9:10 a.m. There were none opposed and no

Agenda Item (Subject)	Responsible Party	Discussion	Results
	Turty		abstentions. The motion passed unanimously.
6. Adjournment	Dr. Mairi Rothman, DM, CNM (Committee chairperson)	After returning to the Open Session meeting, Dr. Rothman, requested a motion to adjourn the May 3, 2024, Open Session Committee meeting. The next Committee meeting is scheduled for Friday, June 7, 2024, beginning at 10:00 a.m.	Dr. Ann Burke, MD, moved, and Paige Barocca, LDEM, seconded the motion to adjourn the May 10, 2024, Open Session Committee meeting at 9:51 a.m. There were none opposed and no abstentions. The motion passed unanimously.