#### Direct-Entry Midwifery Advisory Committee Maryland Board of Nursing 4140 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21215

#### Open Session Meeting Minutes December 4, 2023

NAME	TITLE	PRESENT	ABSENT	
Committee Members				
Paige Barocca, LDEM	Licensed Direct-Entry Midwife Member			
_	1 <sup>st</sup> Four-Year Term: June 22, 2022 – December 31, 2025			
Tess Brody, LDEM	Licensed Direct-Entry Midwife Member			
-	1 <sup>st</sup> Four-Year Term: January 1, 2023 – December 31, 2026			
Brittany Coffman, LDEM	Licensed Direct-Entry Midwife Member			
	1 <sup>st</sup> Four-Year Term: January 26, 2022 – December 31, 2025			
Dr. Mairi Breen Rothman,	Certified Nurse Midwife Member	X		
CNM	1 <sup>st</sup> Four-Year Term: January 31, 2023 – January 31, 2027			
Roxann Gordon, CNM	Chair, Certified Nurse Midwife Member		X	
(Chair)	1 <sup>st</sup> Four-Year Term: January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2024			
Dr. Ann B. Burke, M.D.	Representative of Maryland Hospital Association Member, 1st Four-Year	X		
	Term: January 31, 2022 – December 31, 2026			
	<b>Note</b> : Vacancy because prior member resigned. A member appointed after a			
	term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is			
	appointed. Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. § 8-6C-11(g)(4).			
Jessica Watkins	Consumer Member	X		
	2 <sup>nd</sup> Four-Year Term: January 1, 2022 – December 31, 2025			
Board Staff				
Monica Mentzer	Manager of Practice, Maryland Board of Nursing	X		
<b>Board Counsel</b>				
Carla Boyd	Assistant Attorney General	X		
Katherine Cummings	Assistant Attorney General		X	
Michael Conti	Assistant Attorney General		X	

Guests (Members of Public), if Applicable				
Rhonda Scott	Executive Director of the Maryland Board of Nursing	X		
Dianna Shu	Maryland Hospital Association	X		
Shannon Serrano		X		

Agenda Item (Subject)	Responsible	Discussion	Results
1. Call to Order	Party  Dr. Ann Burke, MD (Committee member, acting chairperson)  Monica Mentzer (Board staff)	Dr. Ann Burke, MD, volunteered to act as chairperson for the December 4, 2023, Committee meeting, as Ms. Roxann Gordon, CNM, is absent from today's meeting.  Dr. Ann Burke, MD, requested a motion to call the December 4, 2023, Direct-Entry Midwifery Advisory Committee (the "Committee") meeting to order.  The following Committee members were present at the time the meeting was called to order, sufficient for a quorum:  1. Paige Barocca, LDEM; 2. Dr. Mairi Rothman, DM, CNM; 3. Brittany Coffman, LDEM; 4. Dr. Ann Burke, MD; 5. Jessica Watkins (Consumer member); and 6. Tess Brody, LDEM;	Jessica Watkins, moved and Brittany Coffman, LDEM, seconded the motion to call the December 4, 2023, Committee meeting to order at 9:10 a.m. The motion passed unanimously, there were no objections and no abstentions.

Agenda Item (Subject	Responsible Party	Discussion	Results
2. Review of Applicator Reinstatement License to Practic Direct-Entry Midwifery (updat 12/1/2023)	t of (Board staff)	Board's website at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting. Ms. Mentzer provide the Committee with a copy of the updated "Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice Direct-Entry Midwifery" with the one addition (since April 1, 2022) to Section IV – Implicit Bias Training as recommended by the Committee at its review and approval of the document at its December 1, 2023, Open Session Committee meeting.	The Committee did not take any further action regarding this agenda item.
3. Public Business	Dr. Ann Burke, MD (Committee member, acting chairperson)	There were no members of the public present at today's Committee meeting for public business.	
4. The Committee expects to close th meeting in accord with Md. Code Ai Gen. Prov. § 3-305	ance member, acting chairperson	Dr. Burke read the statement to close the Open Session Committee meeting to move the Committee into Closed Session, as required by Md. Code Ann., Gen. Prov. § 3-305.	Tess Brody, LDEM, moved, and Paige Barocca, LDEM, seconded the motion to move the Committee into closed session at 9:20 a.m. There were none opposed and no abstentions. The motion passed unanimously.

Agenda Item (Subject)	Responsible Party	Discussion	Results
5. Adjournment	Dr. Ann Burke, MD (Committee member, acting chairperson)	Dr. Burke, MD, asked for a motion to close the December 4, 2023, open session Committee meeting, with a reminder that the Committee will meet again on Monday, January 5, 2024, at 10:00 a.m.	Paige Barocca, LDEM, moved, and Ms. Brittany Coffman, LDEM, seconded the motion, to adjourn the December 4, 2023, open session Committee meeting, and. There were none opposed and no abstentions. The motion passed unanimously.