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  STATE OF MARYLAND 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS FORM 
 INSTRUCTIONS AND FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Am I legally required to notify the Board that my address has changed? 

Yes.  See Md. Code Ann., Health Occupations Article § 8-312(e)(1) and § 8-6A-08(i)(1). 

When should I notify the Board that my address has changed? 

All licensees and certificate holders should notify the Board of any change of address 
immediately, but no later than 60 days of the change of address.  Md. Code Ann., Health 
Occupations Article § 8-312(e)(1) (“Each licensee shall notify the Board in writing of any 
change in the . . . address of the licensee within 60 days after the change occurred.”); § 8-6A-
08(i)(1) (“Within 60 days after a change has occurred, each certificate holder shall notify the 
Board in writing of any change in a[n] . . . address.”).  

How do I notify the Board that my address has changed? 

You can notify the Board by submitting a Change of Address Form available on the 
Board’s website at address change form by mail, fax, or e-mail. 

Mail: 

Fax: 

E-mail:

Maryland Board of Nursing 
Attention: Renewal Department 
4140 Patterson Avenue 
Baltimore, MD 21215 

Attention:  Renewal Department 
For registered nurses and licensed practical nurses:  (410) 358-3530  
For certified nursing assistants, certified medicine aids, and certified 
medication technicians:  (410) 764-8042 

mbon.infochange@maryland.gov 

Do I need to submit supporting documentation in order to change my address? 

No.  However, if you are a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse, the Board has the 
discretion to request documentation from you pursuant to the Nurse Multistate Licensure 
Compact laws, such as a copy of your driver’s license, State I.D. card, voter registration card, or  
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INSTRUCTIONS AND FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (continued) 

a federal income tax return declaring the primary state of residence, in order to determine your 
primary state of residence. See Code of Maryland Regulations 10.27.22.01A.  

Is my home address private or public information? 

The Board will not post your home address on its website.  However, members of the 
public may be able to obtain your home address by submitting a request under the Maryland 
Public Information Act, Md. Code Ann., General Provisions §§ 4-101 et seq. (2014). The Board 
of Nursing is a state agency and, therefore, the Maryland Public Information Act allows the 
public to have access to records maintained by the Board, including certain information 
concerning the licensure or certification of individuals in the nursing profession.  Specifically 
regarding addresses, § 4-333 of the General Provisions Article of the Maryland Annotated Code 
requires the Board to disclose “the business address of the licensee or, if the business address is 
not available, the home address of the licensee . . .” in response to a Maryland Public 
Information Act request.  Thus, if you do not provide a business address to the Board, the 
Board is required to disclose your home address.  Alternatively, if you do provide a 
business address to the Board, your home address will remain confidential.  

For more information about the Maryland Public Information Act, please visit the 
Board’s website at http://mbon.maryland.gov/Pages/pia-requests.aspx or the Office of the 
Attorney General’s website at https://www.oag.state.md.us/Opengov/pia.htm. 

Do I also need to complete a Declaration of Primary State of Residence form? 

If you are a registered nurse or a licensed practical nurse, and you have moved to or 
from another State, the laws governing the Nurse Multistate Licensure Compact require that you 
complete a Declaration of Primary State Residence in addition

The Declaration of Primary State Residence Form is necessary for the Board to determine 
your eligibility for a multistate or single-state license in Maryland pursuant to the Nurse 
Multistate Licensure Compact.  Md. Code Ann., Health Occupations Article §§ 8-7A-01 et seq. 
(2014 Repl. Vol.) and Code of Maryland Regulations 10.27.22 et seq. For more information 
about the Nurse Licensure Compact, please visit 

 to completing the Change of 
Address Form.  If you are a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse and are moving from one 
residence to another within the State of Maryland, you do not need to complete the Declaration 
of Primary Residence Form unless otherwise requested by Board staff.   

http://mbon.maryland.gov/Pages/msl-compact-
states.aspx.  

How long will it take to change my address? 

Please allow 5-7 business days for the processing of your address change of address 
request.  
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