

INFORMATION SHEET -- LICENSURE AS A DIRECT-ENTRY MIDWIFE

Applicants applying for licensure to practice as a direct-entry midwife in Maryland must submit the following:

- 1. A copy of a birth certificate or other legal proof of age such as passport or driver's license.
- 2. A copy of a current valid Certified Professional Midwife credential granted by the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM).
- 3. A copy of a current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification issued by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association.
- 4. A copy of a current neonatal resuscitation (NRP) certification issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics or the American Heart Association.
- 5. One of the following:
 - A. An official transcript sent directly from a midwifery education program that is accredited by the Midwifery Education Accreditation Council (MEAC) or the Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME);
 - B. Evidence of completion of the NARM Midwifery Bridge Certificate program (copy of the certificate); OR
 - C. If the applicant was certified by NARM as a certified professional midwife on or before January 15, 2017, through a non–MEAC accredited program, but otherwise qualifies for licensure, the applicant shall provide (see application section 3 part B):
 - Evidence of completion, in the past 2 years, of an additional 50 hours of continuing education units approved by the Board and accredited by MEAC, the American College of Nurse Midwives, or the Accrediting Council for Continuing Medical Education, including:
 - a) 14 hours of obstetric emergency skills training such as a birth emergency skills training (BEST) or an advanced life-saving in obstetrics (ALSO) course; and
 - b) The remaining 36 hours shall include courses in pharmacology, lab interpretation of pregnancy, ante-partum complications, intrapartum complications, postpartum complications, and neonatal care.
- 6. \$900.00 non-refundable application processing and initial licensure fee (check or money order) payable to the **Maryland Board of Nursing.**
- 7. A properly formatted passport-style photograph.
- 8. A signed copy of the General Written Care Plan for Direct Entry Midwives (<u>attached</u>).
- 9. A current Criminal History Record Check (CHRC) is REQUIRED to complete your application. A fingerprint card (FOR MARYLAND RESIDENTS ONLY) and instructions are available <u>HERE</u>. OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS MUST <u>EMAIL THE BOARD TO REQUEST AN OUT-OF-STATE FINGERPRINT</u> <u>CARD</u>. Once fingerprints have been obtained, send a COPY of your CHRC (fingerprinting) receipt to the Board of Nursing as indicated in the CHRC (fingerprinting) instructions.
- 10. Complete and sign the application in its entirety.
- 11. Allow four (4) to six (6) weeks for processing.

4140 Patterson Avenue - Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2254 Toll Free: 1 (888) 202 – 9861 • Phone: (410) 585 – 1900 • TTY/TDD: 1 (800) 735 – 2258 Fax: (410) 358 - 3530 www.mbon.maryland.gov Effective January 27, 2012: Please be advised that the disclosure of your Social Security Number is **mandatory** in order to process your application.

Any license or certificate application(s) received at the Maryland Board of Nursing without a Social Security Number (SSN) <u>WILL NOT</u> be processed. Applications without these numbers are incomplete.

The Board is required by federal and Maryland law to collect this information for the following purposes:

- Verification of identity with respect to final adverse actions related to your license or certificate (42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7e(b))
- Administration of the Child Support Enforcement Program (Md. Family Law Code Ann., §
 - 10-119.3)
- Identification by the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation of new businesses in Maryland (Md. Health Occ. Code Ann., § 1-210)
 Please understand that if the Board receives your application, but it is incomplete because there is <u>NO</u> Social Security Number, your application <u>WILL NOT</u> be processed and <u>WILL BE</u> returned to you.

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL REQUIRE ADDITIONAL PROCESSING TIME.

Once issued, the new Direct-Entry Midwife license verification may be viewed and printed from the Board's website: <u>www.mbon.org</u> --- "Look Up A Licensee"